ALERA History


Download Constitution PDF here

Presidents of the ALERA/IRSA

The following individuals have served as Presidents of the Australian Labour and Employment Relations Association (ALERA), formerly known as the Industrial Relations Society of Australia (IRSA). Details show the professional position held at the time of election together with state or territory of the relevant constituent society.

2012          Peter Hampton, Commissioner, Fair Work Australia, SA

2011          Melanie Binet, Director - Legal Services, Gregor & Binet Pty Ltd, WA

2010          Naomi Porrovecchio, Pay-Equity Officer, Office of Women’s Policy, NT

2009          Russell Lansbury, Professor, University of Sydney, NSW

2008          Pat Leary, President, Industrial Relations Commission of Tasmania, Tas

2007          Alexandra Allars, Workplace Relations Manager, CSIRO, ACT

2006          Susan Barrera, Chief of Staff, Department of Premier and Cabinet, WA

2005          Cheryl-Anne Laird, Associate Director, Livingstones, Qld

2004          Michael Butler, Principal, HR + WorkLaw, Vic

2003          Stephen Dowd, Partner, Piper-Alderman, SA

2002          Neil McHattie, Deputy Industrial Registrar, Australian Industrial Registry, NT

2001          Christine Short, Consultant, WA

2000          Ed Davis, Professor, Macquarie University, NSW

1998/99    Hugh Armstrong, Conciliation Officer, WorkCover Service, Vic

1997/98    Christine Hayward, Deputy Industrial Registrar, ACT

1996/97    Trevor Small, Manager Employment Services, Brambles Australasia, Qld

1995/96    Sharon Woon, Senior Industrial Officer, Department of Industrial Relations (Cwlth), NT

1994/95    William Holdsworth, Consultant, SA

1993/94    Peter Halton, Secretary, Finance Sector Union, Tas

1992/93    Jack Gregor, Commissioner, Western Australian Industrial Relations Commission, WA

1991/92    Tim Moore, Minister, New South Wales Parliament, NSW

1990/91    Colin G. Polites, Deputy President, Australian Industrial Relations Commission, Vic

1989/90    Tom Barton, Secretary, Trades and Labour Council, Qld

1988/89    Roy Hegarty, Deputy Industrial Registrar, SA

1987/88    Brian Brooks, Associate Professor, University of New South Wales, NSW

1986/87    Jim Coleman, Commissioner, Aust. Conciliation and Arbitration Commission, WA

1985/86    Gerry Lane, Deputy Director, Australian Chamber of Manufacturers, Vic

1984/85    Noel Shepherd, Secretary, Merchant Service Guild of Australia, Qld

1983/84     James Brassil, Chairman, Nat. Occupational Health and Safety Commission, ACT

1982/83     John Niland, Professor, University of New South Wales, NSW

1981/82     Keith Marshall, President, Industrial Relations Commission of Victoria, Vic

1980/81     John Cross, Employee Relations Manager, Mitsubishi, SA

1979/80     David McLeish, Secretary, Electrical Trades Union, NSW

1978/79     Lionel Ledlie, Employee Relations Manager, Castlemaine Perkins, Qld

1977/78     Edward Sykes, Professor, University of Melbourne, Vic

1976/77     Owen Pamplin, Chairman, Wages Board, Tas

1975/76     Vic Techritz, Controller of Employer Relations, Mobil Oil, Victoria

1974/75     Harry Krantz, Secretary, Federated Clerks Union, SA

1972/74     John Moore, President, Australian Conciliation and Arbitration Commission

1971/72     Keith Hancock, Professor of Economics, Flinders University, SA

1969/71     Lindsay Bowes, Secretary, Department of Labour and Industry, SA

1967/69     George Polites, Director General, Confederation of Australian Industry, Vic

1966/67     Norm Thom, President, Labour Council of New South Wales, NSW

1965/66     John Kerr, Barrister, NSW